Accessibility Tools

Notice regarding the 2021/2022 Lifetime Achievement Award

The ISSLS Wiltse Lifetime Achievement Award was not granted in 2021, due to the postponement of the Milan meeting in favour of a virtual meeting. Winners for 2021 and 2022 will be selected from this year’s nominees and presented at the Annual Meeting in Boston. No nominations will therefore be solicited for 2022.


The International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine presents an annual award for exceptional achievement in the spinal field. It is the Society’s most prestigious recognition of the life’s work of an individual.  The nominee should be an outstanding scientist, clinician or basic science researcher who has made a major contribution to the advancement of knowledge in the field of spinal disorders. Nominees may be proposed by officers of universities, hospitals and/or spine research institutions. The award is to honour an individual who has made great contributions to the medical field, either members or non-members of ISSLS.

Please note: This award is intended for a single individual, not a group of two or more.  This is not a monetary award. 

The nomination must be accompanied by:

  • curriculum vitae
  • biographical summary (maximum 2 pages),
  • list of publications
  • an outline of the nominee’s contribution to the field of spinal research (maximum 3 pages).
  • two sponsoring letters, one from the individual making the nomination and one other from an individual outside the nominating institution.

The award will be presented at the ISSLS Annual Meeting. Nomination may be updated and carried forward for the following two years.

Please email the nomination documents to no later than January 31, in the year of nomination. (NOTE: There will be no nominations solicited for 2022).

Past Awards

  • Dr John P. O’Brien, Australia (due to the cancellation of 2020 meeting in Melbourne, Dr O’Brien received his award at the ISSLS  Virtual Annual Meeting in June in 2021)
  • Dr Shin-ichi Kikuchi, Fukushima Medical University, Fukushima, Japan
    (Kyoto, Japan, June 3-7, 2019)
  • Dr Jeremy Fairbank, Oxford University, Oxford, UK
    (Banff, Canada, May 14-18, 2018)
  • Dr Robert Fraser, Royal Adelaide Hospital, Adelaide, Australia
    (Athens, May 29 – June 1, 2017)
  • Dr. Max Aebi, Salem-Hirslanden Hospital, Bern, Switzerland
    (Singapore Spineweek May 16-20, 2016)
  • Dr. Richard Deyo, Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, Oregon, USA
    (San Francisco, CA, USA June 8-12, 2015)
  • Dr. Edward Hanley, Carolinas Medical Center, North Carolina, USA
    (Seoul, Korea June 3-7, 2014)
  • Dr. Steven Garfin, University of California, San Diego, California, USA
    (Scottsdale, AZ, USA May 13-17, 2013)
  • Not awarded 2012
  • Dr. Tapio Videman, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada
    (Gothenburg, Sweden, June 14-18, 2011)
  • Dr. Vijay Goel, University of Toledo, USA
    (Auckland, New Zealand, April 13-17, 2010)
  • Not awarded 2009
  • Dr. Vert Mooney of San Diego, CA, USA
    (Geneva, Switzerland May 26-31, 2008)
  • Dr. Jill Urban, Oxford University, Oxford, UK
    (Hong Kong, China, June 10-14, 2007)
  • Dr. James Weinstein of Dartmouth University, Hanover, NH, USA (Bergen, Norway, June 13 17, 2006)
  • Dr. Manohar Panjabi of New Haven, CT, USA,
    (New York, NY, May 10-14, 2005)
  • Dr. Kiyoshi Kaneda of Sapporo, Japan (Porto, Portugal, June 1-5, 2004)
  • Dr. Malcolm Pope of Aberdeen, Scotland
    (Vancouver, Canada, May 13-17, 2003)
  • Dr. Gunnar Andersson of Chicago, IL, USA
    (Cleveland, OH, USA, May 14-18, 2002)
  • Dr. John Frymoyer of Burlington, VT, USA
    (Edinburgh, Scotland, June 19-23, 2001)
  • Professor Alf Nachemson of Sweden
    (Adelaide, Australia April 19-23, 2000)

With sincere appreciation, the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine thanks the following companies for their sponsorship of the 48th ISSLS Annual Meeting in Boston, USA

ISSLS thanks the following exhibitors for their support at the 48th Annual Meeting in Boston, USA