2021 ISSLS Prize Winners

Congratulations to this year's winners of the ISSLS Prize for Lumbar Spine Research.  Professor Björn Rydevik, Chair of the ISSLS Prize Committee said that the Committee was impressed with the quality of this year's entries and that the competition was extremely strong. 

The 2021 ISSLS Prize winners can be found here (Link to ISSLS Prize page


Officers and Committees - Positions Vacant – 2021 (Members Only)

The Nominating Committee requests suggestions for positions vacant in 2021:

2nd Vice-President, Fellowship Committee, Program Committee, Membership Committee, Scientific Representative

Regional representatives:
Asia Pacific
Western US

Please send your suggestions to by February 3, 2021


Nominate someone for the ISSLS Wiltse Lifetime Achievement Award

ISSLS sponsors an annual award for exceptional achievement in the spinal field.
The nominee should be an outstanding scientist, clinician, or basic science researcher who has made a major contribution to the advancement of knowledge in the field of spinal disorders.


ISSLS Annual meeting 2021 goes virtual

ISSLS Annual meeting 2021 goes virtual Instead of the traditional in-person meeting which was planned to take place in Milan next year, we will be hosting an ISSLS Virtual conference for 2021.  

Planning for this virtual conference is currently underway and more details will be available soon.


Did you miss the 2020 ISSLS Prize Winners webinar

Did you miss the 2020 ISSLS Prize Winners webinar Did you miss the ISSLS Prize webinar or wish to view it again? Now you have the chance to listen to the presentations and you can also contact the presenters via e-mail if you wish to ask questions or discuss the papers.

The reliability and interpretability of score change in lumbar spine research
Catharina Parai, Olle Hägg, Bengt Lind, Helena Brisby, Sweden
Contact info:

Examining causal effects of body mass index on back pain: a Mendelian randomization study
Elizaveta E. Elgaeva, Yakov Tsepilov, Maxim B. Freidin, Frances M.K. Williams, Yurii Aulchenko, Pradeep Suri,
Contact info:

Beyond microstructure: circumferential specialization within the lumbar intervertebral disc annulus extends to collagen nanostructure, with counterintuitive relationships to macroscal material properties
Tyler W Herod, Sam P. Veres, Canada
Contact info:


Josef Assheuer 1941-2020

Josef Assheuer 1941-2020
Josef Assheuer has been a member of ISSLS since 1992 and he contributed with important perspectives to the multidisciplinary nature of the ISSLS, as a clinician-scientist in radiology, nuclear medicine and imaging, and most recently as a co-chair of the ISSLS Degenerative Spinal Phenotypes Focus Group.


Raghu Natarajan 1940-2020

Raghu Natarajan 1940-2020 Read his obituary here

Henry (Harry) Vernon Crock 1929-2018

Henry (Harry) Vernon Crock 1929-2018 Read his obituary